Thought Train – What does it really mean to settle down?

27 08 2014

Source – lorenzaccio on flickr

I used to think that to be truly settled down in a place, you need to be comfortable taking the bus. Looking back at my stay in Bangkok where I took a bus to work in an
absolute foreign country and then rented a place where I would start my day with a delightful boat ride to work, I suppose there is some truth to the naivete. Though I
wonder if planning a trip by public transport to a new place is more of a step in growing up rather than settling down per se. When I was much younger, my benchmark for
having grown up, and being able to take care of myself, meant being able to take a bus or train independently in Mumbai.

Taking the train in Mumbai seems like such a struggle in contrast to the ease of movement back at home.Β 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

