Med school has ended

7 02 2014

That is an ironic thing to say considering how the title of this blog is medschneverends. Yet, today, I just finished my final end of rotation test and hung out with my group mates for a final post-test outing. I’m a very nostalgic kind of guy and thought about how I went from my first day with a stethoscope where I was convinced that all the heart sounds heard from a stethoscope were make believe to the stage where you listen to a patients chest and start making some inferences as to why the heart sounds the way it does and what treatment you can offer the patient.

It’s a long hard journey that would not have been possible without some lovely friends, patient mentors, my parents who have been very enabling and multitudes of willing patients who were kind enough to let me listen to their chest multiple times without complaining. This goes for the entire spectrum of clinical skills I’ve started acquiring and refining over the past three years.

It’s time to settle down and prep for the finals and on the bright side, it would mean some time to really digest all those years of learning and just maybe, I’ll be able to a bit of writing on the side too.

Cheers to many years of learning ahead!

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 03 2014
Alfred Wong

Congrats, mate! You’ll be a wonderful doctor! Another 2 odd years before I finish mine! Maybe we could catch up over a locum next time!

26 03 2014
medschneverends

Of course! Or if you’re back over the holidays!

Leave a Reply

