“There is no such thing as a happy period”

18 10 2012

The menstrual cycle is an extremely well coordinated process involving four main players that act together like an orchestra. They are the hypothalamus, the anterior pituitary gland, the ovary and the endometrium” – Professor K. Arumugam, from A practical approach to problems in Gynecology for the undergraduate.

I happened to be reading that guidebook since I’m doing an Obstetrics and Gynecology attachment. The first time I talked to my friend about this quote, she bluntly remarked that it must have been written by a guy. And it’s true. Despite what the professor says, most of my girl friends would agree that a period is less like an orchestra and more like a Justin Bieber concert gone bad. The more time I spend in the Gynecology clinic, the more I am convinced of this fact. I am constantly surprised by the fact that women could have hidden such a large part of their lives from us men, though I feel that part of the reason is that we never really asked. I think the next time I’d be prepared to listen a bit and offer a hug and some anti-inflammatories.

In this context, it was absolutely hilarious when a friend shared this article with me about how a disgruntled boyfriend posted a complaint on the Facebook page of a Sanitary napkin company. I think Adweek has covered the story really well, including the original post on Facebook together with the company’s HILARIOUS video response. I strongly suggest you read the article.

To my guy friends, I think there’s a bit more we can do to make the world a better place. To my girl friends, Cheers mate!

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

